How to erase all content and setting on mac in easy steps – India Today

The new macOS has an ‘Erase all content and setting’ option, but it is only available for 2017. Or newer Macs that come with the T2 security chip.

macOS Monterey resents your mac by destroying the encryption keys and getting rid of the data in the process.

The new option lets you sign out from:

  • Apple ID
  • Delete your Touch ID data
  • Unpairs all accessories
  • Delete Apple wallet data
  • Remove the find my & activation lock

In other words, a user can factory reset their mac without any hassle.

Before following the steps, it is advised to back up the data using a ‘Time Machine’ feature in mac so that you can restore it if you want.

How to use the ‘Time Machine’ feature on a mac:

  • Select ‘System Preference’ from the Apple menu
  • Choose the ‘Time Machine’ icon
  • Click ‘Select Backup Disk’
  • Select which disk you’d like to use as a ‘Time Machine backup
  • Check the ‘Back-Up Automatically’ box in order to automatically back up your mac to your chosen disks

Steps to erase content & the setting on the mac:

  • Click on the Apple icon in the top-left corner and go to system preferences
  • When the system preferences dashboard opens, click on ‘System Preferences’ from the ‘top menu bar’ and select ‘Erase all content and settings’
  • An ‘Erase Assistant’ pop-up will appear.
  • Enter the mac password and click on ‘okay’
  • Users will get another message telling all the content that will be erased from your Mac.
  • Check if there’s something important to back up and then hit ‘continue’
  • Your mac will close all apps and ask you to sign out of your iCloud account.
  • Once this is done, your mac will erase all content and settings

READ Want to connect AirPods to your iPhone? Here’s how

READ Lunar Eclipse 2021: Date, time, where and how to watch Chandra Grahan in India

Adblock test (Why?)

Categories Mac

Leave a Comment