IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders Factbox, the lost riders slowly finding their way back

IPL titles: 2

Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata Knight Riders have gained the league twice, in 2012 and 2014. They’re third in probably the most titles class with Mumbai Indians main with 4 adopted by Chennai Tremendous Kings with three. KKR have made it to the playoffs six instances in 13 seasons together with profitable two championships. They’ve had a start-stop report within the league just lately and did not managed to succeed in the ultimate since 2014 till the final season the place they launched a comeback within the second leg and ended up as runners-up.

This is how they’ve fared yr on yr

How did they fare within the earlier season: KKR launched a shocking fightback after shedding 5 of the primary seven video games to qualify for the play-offs. They went all the best way to the ultimate, solely to finish up quick in opposition to Chennai Tremendous Kings and finish runners-up. They gained 5 of the seven matches of the second leg within the UAE and certified for the ultimate on higher run-rate in a two means race with Mumbai Indians.

Win share: 52.15

KKR have the third-best win share of 52.15 having gained 107 of the 209 matches performed. They’ve misplaced 98 matches.

Highest run-getter: Gautam Gambhir

Gambhir has been KKR’s all-time highest run-getter with 3035 runs from 108 innings at 31.61. He amassed 27 fifties and possessed a strike fee of 124.28.

From the present crop, Andre Russell is the best run-getter with 1642 runs from 66 innings at 30.40. He is hit 9 fifties and possesses a staggering strike fee of 180.04.

Highest wicket-taker: Sunil Narine

Narine has scalped most wickets for KKR with 143 wickets from 133 innings at 24.53. He boasts a powerful economic system fee of 6.74 and a median of 24.53. He has one five-wicket and 7 four-wicket hauls.

Highest particular person rating: Brendon McCullum 158 not out vs RCB on the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.

McCullum set the ball rolling within the very first match of the IPL with iconic innings of 158 from 73 balls together with 13 sixes and 10 fours. The report of the innings being the best rating in IPL remained for 5 years earlier than Chris Gayle surpassed it with 175 not out on the identical venue in opposition to Pune Warriors in 2013. It nonetheless stays the second-highest particular person rating within the league.

Highest staff rating: 245/6 vs KXIP in Indore:

Powered by half-centuries from Sunil Narine the opener (75 off 36 balls) and captain Dinesh Karthik (50 off 23 balls), KKR posted 245/6 batting first in opposition to KXIP on the Holkar Stadium in 2018. KKR gained the match as KXIP fell quick by 31 runs.

Favorite opponent: Kings XI Punjab

KKR have had probably the most success in opposition to KXIP (For groups in opposition to whom KKR has performed 10 or extra matches). They’ve a 65.51 p.c win report in opposition to them having gained 19 of the 29 matches and misplaced 10.

Bogey opponent: Mumbai Indians

KKR have not had a good time in opposition to MI having misplaced 22 of the 29 matches and gained simply 7 with a win share of simply 24.13, their least in opposition to all groups (For groups in opposition to whom KKR has performed 10 or extra matches).

After they performed within the UAE: They did not have one of the best of begins to the league in 2014, profitable simply 2 out of 5 within the UAE leg. Nevertheless, they bounced again laborious within the Indian leg and went on to win the title that yr. After they returned in 2020, they could not make it to the playoff and ended fifth.

Nevertheless, the 2021 version was a fruitful one as they bounced again sturdy to win 5 of the seven matches of the UAE leg and qualify for the play-offs, after having misplaced 5 of the primary seven matches within the Indian leg.

Lesser recognized details:

  • KKR additionally maintain the report for many consecutive wins in a season and total. They gained 9 matches on a trot in 2014 and prolonged it to 10 at first of the 2015 season.
  • Gautam Gambhir scored 1343 runs at a median of 34.44 from 44 innings at Eden Gardens, Kolkata – probably the most by any KKR participant at a single venue in IPL.
  • Sunil Narine has taken 56 wickets from 45 matches at a SR of 18.29 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata in IPL – probably the most by any KKR participant at a single venue.


Retentions, purchases and squad

Gamers retained: Andre Russell (WI allrounder) Rs 12 crore, Sunil Narine (WI allrounder) Rs 6 crore, Varun Chakaravarthy (India spinner) Rs 8 crore, Venkatesh Iyer (India allrounder) Rs 8 crore

IPL 2022 gamers bought

Shreyas Iyer (India batter) Rs 12.25 crore
Andre Russell* (WI allrounder) Rs 12 crore
Sunil Narine* (WI allrounder) Rs 6 crore
Varun Chakaravarthy* (India spinner) Rs 8 crore
Venkatesh Iyer* (India allrounder) Rs 8 crore
Pat Cummins (Australia pacer) Rs 7.25 crore
Nitish Rana (India allrounder) Rs 12.25 crore
Shivam Mavi (India pacer) Rs 7.25 crore
Sheldon Jackson (India batter-wk) Rs 60 lakh
Anukul Roy (India allrounder) Rs 20 lakh
Abhijeet Tomar (India batter) Rs 40 lakh
Pratham Singh (India batter) Rs 20 lakh
Rasikh Salam (India pacer) Rs 20 lakh
Aman Khan (India allrounder) Rs 20 lakh
Ramesh Kumar (India batter) Rs 20 lakh
Ashok Sharma (India pacer) Rs 55 lakh
Tim Southee (NZ pacer) Rs 1.50 crore
Alex Hales (England allrounder) Rs 1.50 crore
Mohammed Nabi (Afghanistan allrounder) Rs 1 crore
Ajinkya Rahane (India batter) Rs 1 crore
Sam Billings (England batter-wk) Rs 2 crore
Umesh Yadav (India pacer) Rs 2 crore
Baba Indrajith (India batter-wk) Rs 20 lakh
Chamika Karunaratne (SL allrounder) Rs 50 lakh
Rinku Singh (India batter) Rs 55 lakh

Full squad: Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Venkatesh Iyer, Varun Chakravarthy, Nitish Rana, Pat Cummins, Shreyas Iyer, Shivam Mavi, Sheldon Jackson, Ajinkya Rahane, Rinku Singh, Anukul Roy, Rasikh Dar, Baba Indrajith, Chamika Karunaratne, Abhijeet Tomar, Pratham Singh, Ashok Sharma, Sam Billings, Alex Hales, Tim Southee, Ramesh Kumar, Mohammad Nabi, Umesh Yadav, Aman Khan

Click on right here to learn Factboxes of all groups

Click on right here to observe complete protection of IPL 2022

Leave a Comment